Most Successful Teams in Formula One

Formula One is the highest class of one-seater auto racing under Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). Established in 1950, the championship has been entertaining motorsports fans year in, year out. In this article, we have shared with you the most successful Formula One teams.

1. Ferrari

Scuderia Ferrari is an Italian constructor that debuted in Formula 1 during the 1950 Monaco Grand Prix. Nicknamed “The Prancing Horse”, Ferrari boasts the most constructor’s championships with 16 titles as a team and a constructor. Some of the legendary Ferrari drivers include Michael Schumacher who holds the record for the most championship titles in the history of Formula One.

2. Williams

Currently racing under the name ROKiT Williams Racing, Williams is a British team that entered the Formula One competitions in the 1977 Spanish Grand Prix. The team has 9 Formula One titles under its name. Among Williams’ best drivers is Alain Prost, a four-time Formula One champion and Alberto Ascari, a two-time champion.

3. McLaren

Third on the list is McLaren, also a British team that made its entry to the Formula One in the 1966 Monaco Grand Prix. The team has 8 Formula One titles although most were won in the early 80s to early 90s. Some of the best MacLaren drivers include Lewis Hamilton, Mika Häkkinen, Ayrton Senna da Silva, and Alain Prost.

The above are the best Formula One teams. Other worthy mentions include Lotus who have seven titles, followed by Mercedes with six titles, and then Red Bull with four.

It’s worth mentioning that Red Bull and Mercedes have dominated during the last decade. Austrian constructor Red Bull won the championship four times in a row during 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 championships. Mercedes then won the next six championships consecutively, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019.